Summer 2014

I’m very happy to announce that my book Immanuel Kant: The Very Idea of a Critique of Pure Reason is now forthcoming from Northwestern University Press. I’ve also signed a contract with Rowman & Littlefield for a book called Early Modern Aesthetics, which will be published in their series Global Aesthetic Research. I’m thankful for the advice and support of the editors and reviewers for both presses. I’m very excited about both projects.

I’m currently teaching a summer capstone seminar for St. Mary’s, as well as an ethics course. In the fall, I’ll teach another capstone seminar, two sections of ethics, and an advanced course on Kantian moral theory. I’m most excited about the moral theory course, because it’s something I’ve wanted to teach for a long time.  During the first half of the semester, we’ll read the Groundwork of the Metaphysics of Morals, Critique of Practical Reason, and selections from the Metaphysics of Morals, along with some of Kant’s shorter ethical writings. Then, during the second half of the semester, we’ll look at deontological, constructivist, and contractualist interpretations of Kantian ethics. I’ll also be coaching St. Mary’s ethics bowl team, so it will be a very moral semester. You do what reason commands, I guess.

Leave a Reply

