Fall 2015

I’ve just submitted the manuscript for Early Modern Aesthetics to my editor at Rowman & Littlefield International. The book should be out in December, followed in March 2016 by Immanuel Kant: The Very Idea of a Critique of Pure Reason, which will be published by Northwestern University Press. The latter will be the subject of an author meets critics symposium on the website Critique. I can’t think of a better venue to debate Kant’s conception of critique…

I’ll be occupied correcting proofs this fall, but I hope to finish a paper on Kant’s aesthetics and another one on the methodological and historiographical principles I used in the aesthetics book. I suspect these principles could be applied to other parts of philosophy, but aesthetics has been a nice laboratory for my experiments. I’m planning to combine my work on aesthetics and my work on Kant in my next project, which will be a study of the Elementarlehre in Kant’s Critique of Pure Reason. Right now it has the working title: ‘Aesthetics and Logic: The Elements of Kant’s Critique.’

This fall I’ll be teaching Late Modern Philosophy, along with two sections of ethics and a capstone seminar. I have a couple ideas for new courses in the spring, but that will depend on scheduling.

Leave a Reply

